Editorial LinksRivers and RegionsIssuesDisactersPolicy

May / June 2003

Zambian Water Pictures
Water Resource Info Database

OPINION - Confusing Cause and Effect


Founder : Len Abrams
Water Policy International


   Return to the Development Page   

        Return to the Features Page      

      Return to the Documents Page    

    Return to the South African Water Scene Page    

The Southern African Development Community (SADC)

SADC Water Sector Co-ordinating Unit

This page includes details of the activities of the Water Sector Co-ordinating Unit, documents etc.
The action plan includes details of the following programs

  • ZACPLAN (Zambezi Action Plan) 
  • HYCOS (Hydrological Cycle Observing System)
  • Round Table Conference
  • Groundwater Programme
  • Regional Strategic Action Plan

SADC Shared Watercourse Systems Protocol

 The Revised Protocol (pdf file) 

 The Original Protocol (pdf file)

As of 5 July 2001, the SADC countries that have ratified the Protocol on  Shared Water Course Systems (old protocol) are : Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Revised protocol on shared water courses signed by thirteen SADC member states in Namibia last year has been ratified by two member states namely Botswana and Namibia.


The SADC Water Resource Database
Donor involvement in the SADC water Sector

Southern African Research and Documentation Centre

SADC Links

SADC Home Page
An Information page on SADC

SADC Forestry Sector Technical Coordination Unit (FSTCU) 

SADC Mining Sector Co-Ordinating Unit

SACD Central Banks Site

SADC Energy Sector Technical and Administrative Unit



Water Web Management Ltd
1 Dome Hill, Caterham
Surrey CR3 6EE, UK



2000/1 Water Policy International Ltd -
Materials may be used with consent and acknowledgement.

| Home | Features | Water Education | Development | News | Documents | Rivers & Regions| Water Issues | Disasters | Water Policy | Editorial | Links |